I Tri

Yesterday was day 1 one of triathlon training.  I’d call it a success!

I signed up for the Huntington Sprint Tri on September 25th. Last week, I was debating back and forth about signing up. Yea, I’m indecisive like that.

Then my friend’s soon-to-be husband decided to sign up, and I happened to find an 8 week training plan online that I could start this week, so it all came together as if it were meant to be. Kismet, I tell you.

My first act as a tri-athelete in training was to buy a bathing suit. You might think this would be a necessity before deciding to sign up for a tri, but I assure you, it’s not. They happily accepted my $100 payment when I registered on Sunday night without proof-of-swimsuit.

Don’t worry, getting the suit was easy enough – just a quick lunch-time jaunt over to Modell’s and I’m now the proud owner of a hawt navy blue speedo one-piece.

Luckily I already had a swim cap and goggles (see, I’m sort of prepared). With my newly purchased suit, I was ready for training workout #1: Swim 20 minutes, Run 25 minutes.

Easy enough. I got to the gym around 5:45 last night, and was surprised to find a wait at the pool. It’s a pretty small pool though, so I guess it makes sense that there would be a wait, but I didn’t expect it. 

Still, I was able to get in my 20 minutes. I have no idea the distance I swam – I don’t even think my gym’s pool is a regular-sized pool, not that I really know what the “regular” size is anyway. But the 20 minutes weren’t too hard, which I guess is a good thing, considering that they give you about 30 minutes to complete the swim portion of the tri, so I should be ok there (except for the whole open water thing, which I’ll have to figure out at some point).
 
Afterward I changed into running clothes and hit the treadmill for a 25 minute run – about 2.7 miles.

Overall, I was happy with the workout. Next up, I conquer the bike 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment