Under Pressure

A few weeks ago I channeled my inner 80-year-old and purchased a blood pressure machine from CVS. All of the blood pressure machines (yes, there was quite a selection) were near the pharmacy, on a shelf squeezed behind a huge support beam. Were I, in fact, 80, I’m not  sure I could have shimmied behind that beam to pick one out. Lucky for me, I had no problems and walked out with a nice, new CVS-brand automatic model.

It’s pretty rad.

My doctor suggested I purchase one because I was having some spells of light-headed-ness, and it would be good to monitor my blood pressure.

One time, in Anatomy class in high school, we learned how to use blood pressure machines. We were assigned one machine per 2 people, and got to practice taking our partner’s blood pressure. It turns out I remember nothing about that class, except that it happened (I think the cat dissection we did later that year was so traumatizing it wiped out all other memories).

But it’s ok, because my handy little machine does everything for me – it really is pretty neat.

It turns out my bp was pretty normal for someone my age – 119/80. But I’m going to track it every day for a week or two just to get a good sense of what my ‘normal’ is.

After all, I don’t want anything to interfere with my training now that I’m a triathlete.

Speaking of which, day 2 of training went smashingly. I accidentally brought 2 different shoes to the gym- fortunately enough one was a right shoe, and one a left. To my credit, both were blue, and I packed my gym bag seconds before running out the door to work.

Today was better. I wore 2 of the same shoes, and rode my 2-wheeler around the neighborhood for 45 minutes. I think I need to make my seat a bit higher, but for now I’d like to keep my feet in close proximity to the ground just in case.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment